History

Calvary Baptist Church first began in 1897 as a group of ladies coming together to support various missions. Soon after, a Sunday School for the kids started, followed by regular worship services under open air tents. In 1901, the young congregation built a permanent, barn-like structure as the place of worship on Esplanade Street. Unfortunately, this building only stood for eight years as it was destroyed by a fire in January 1909. With courage and faith, these hardy pioneers rebuilt a new structure on the same site before the end of 1909. Many decades of worship services and Sunday School were held there. In 1979, Calvary Baptist Church purchased 14.25 acres of beautiful, forested property on River Road. A group of dedicated congregants set to hard work the beginnings of a new church home. And in the Fall of 1986, the congregation moved from Esplanade St. to 3318 River Road. We have been worshipping here and enjoying this beautiful property ever since! The original Esplanade site now houses a long-term seniors home, "Steeples" and still has the original steeple within its structure.

We are grateful to have such a rich history, over a hundred years old!